Raleigh Civic Symphony & Chamber Orchestra

Based at North Carolina State University (NCSU), and co-sponsored by the Department of Music and the non-profit organization Raleigh Civic Symphony Association (RCSA), the Raleigh Civic Symphony and Raleigh Civic Chamber Orchestra are amateur orchestras comprised almost equally of volunteer community musicians and college students. The orchestras are unique in their ongoing commitment to perform contemporary and traditional classical music presented in a thematic context, connecting orchestral repertoire to larger ideas in creative ways.

The Raleigh Civic Symphony

The Raleigh Civic Symphony is a 75-member full symphony orchestra performing two concerts yearly. Area professionals serve as principal strings and section coaches, providing high-level instruction and leadership to community and student players.

Raleigh Civic Chamber Orchestra

Founded in 2000, the Raleigh Civic Chamber Orchestra explores repertoire for a smaller orchestral force. The Chamber has the same high artistic standards as the Symphony, performs two programs yearly, and uses professional leaders as coaches for the ensemble.

Our Conductor

Dr. Peter Askim

Active as a composer, conductor and bassist, Peter Askim is the Artistic Director of the Next Festival of Emerging Artists and the conductor of the Raleigh Civic Symphony and Chamber Orchestra, as well as Director of Orchestral Activities at North Carolina State University. He was previously Music Director and Composer-in-Residence of the Idyllwild Arts Academy Orchestra. He has also been a member of the Honolulu Symphony Orchestra and served on the faculty of the University of Hawaii-Manoa, where he directed the Contemporary Music Ensemble and taught theory and composition.

Visit his website www.peteraskim.com


Event Information:

  • Sun

    Raleigh Civic Symphony: Celebrating American Composers

    4:00 pmStewart Theatre, Talley Student Union, 2610 Cates Ave, Raleigh, NC 27607
    Print Friendly, PDF & Email

    Rhapsody in (Red, White and) Blue: Celebrating American Composers

    Aaron Copland: Outdoor Overture
    George Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue, Clara Yang, Piano
    Christopher Theofanidis: Rainbow Body
    Jessica Meyer: Actions Speak… (World Premiere)

    Where else but in America could a gay Jewish composer from Brooklyn (Aaron Copland) create the “American" sound of cowboys and the Wild West?

    The Raleigh Civic Symphony explores the diverse voices, influences and backgrounds that make American music truly unique. From traditions as diverse as jazz, country, rock ’n’ roll and Greek folk music, the concert is a cross-section of the wealth and breadth of the American experience.

    The program includes George Gershwin’s beloved Rhapsody In Blue (performed by UNC faculty pianist Clara Yang), Aaron Copland’s spacious Outdoor Overture and the neo-Romantic lyricism and power of Christopher Theofanidis’s Rainbow Body.  In an “up to the minute” reflection of American music and life, the orchestra performs the World Premiere of Actions Speak… by Jessica Meyer, a breathtakingly visceral look at the human condition in today’s America.

    $10 Adults, $8 Seniors, $5 Students, Children Under 12 Free.

    Three ways to order tickets:

    - in person: main floor lobby, Thompson Hall
    - by phone: (919) 515-1100
    - online: click here

    Available for purchase at the door or in advance through Ticket Central 919-515-1100.

    Map to Talley Student Union: http://maps.ncsu.edu/#/buildings/tsu

'Bright lights on the music scene in Raleigh.'
- Spectator,
'Askim has a fine podium manner, devoid of histrionics: he clearly knows what he is seeking, musically, and how to obtain it from his players.'
- John W. Lambert,
'... this energetic young conductor and the committed musicians are all set to carry on in the first-rate tradition set by their honored predecessors'
- Paul D. Williams,


Price Music Center
NC State University
Raleigh, NC