Raleigh Civic Symphony & Chamber Orchestra

Based at North Carolina State University (NCSU), and co-sponsored by the Department of Music and the non-profit organization Raleigh Civic Symphony Association (RCSA), the Raleigh Civic Symphony and Raleigh Civic Chamber Orchestra are amateur orchestras comprised almost equally of volunteer community musicians and college students. The orchestras are unique in their ongoing commitment to perform contemporary and traditional classical music presented in a thematic context, connecting orchestral repertoire to larger ideas in creative ways.

The Raleigh Civic Symphony

The Raleigh Civic Symphony is a 75-member full symphony orchestra performing two concerts yearly. Area professionals serve as principal strings and section coaches, providing high-level instruction and leadership to community and student players.

Raleigh Civic Chamber Orchestra

Founded in 2000, the Raleigh Civic Chamber Orchestra explores repertoire for a smaller orchestral force. The Chamber has the same high artistic standards as the Symphony, performs two programs yearly, and uses professional leaders as coaches for the ensemble.

Our Conductor

Dr. Peter Askim

Active as a composer, conductor and bassist, Peter Askim is the Artistic Director of the Next Festival of Emerging Artists and the conductor of the Raleigh Civic Symphony and Chamber Orchestra, as well as Director of Orchestral Activities at North Carolina State University. He was previously Music Director and Composer-in-Residence of the Idyllwild Arts Academy Orchestra. He has also been a member of the Honolulu Symphony Orchestra and served on the faculty of the University of Hawaii-Manoa, where he directed the Contemporary Music Ensemble and taught theory and composition.

Visit his website www.peteraskim.com


Event Information:

  • Sun

    Raleigh Civic Symphony: 400 Hundred Years Since Shakespeare: Music Inspired By The Bard

    4:00 pmStewart Theatre, Talley Student Union, 2610 Cates Ave, Raleigh, NC 27607
    Print Friendly, PDF & Email

    In commemoration of the 400th Anniversary of Shakespeare’s death, the Raleigh Civic Symphony performs music inspired by his plays. Featuring music from Prokofiev’s timeless Romeo and Juliet, the concert will also include Walton’s Prelude to Richard III, Elgar’s Falstaff Interludes and the World Premiere of composer Rob Deemer’s Verona Dances.

    • Walton - Prelude to Richard III
    • Elgar - Falstaff Interludes, Op. 68, nos. XIV and XIX
    • Rob Deemer - Verona Dances (World Premiere)
    • Prokofiev - Selections from Romeo and Juliet
      • Dance of the Knights/Montagues and Capulets
      • Juliet as a Young Girl
      • Madrigal
      • Arrival of the Guests
      • Masks
      • Romeo at Friar Laurence’s
      • Romeo at Juliet’s Grave


    Tickets: $10 Adults, $8 Seniors, $5 Students, Children Under 12 Free. Available for purchase at the door or in advance through Ticket Central 919-515-1100.

    Map to Talley Student Union: http://maps.ncsu.edu/#/buildings/tsu

'Bright lights on the music scene in Raleigh.'
- Spectator,
'Askim has a fine podium manner, devoid of histrionics: he clearly knows what he is seeking, musically, and how to obtain it from his players.'
- John W. Lambert,
'... this energetic young conductor and the committed musicians are all set to carry on in the first-rate tradition set by their honored predecessors'
- Paul D. Williams,


Price Music Center
NC State University
Raleigh, NC